UNESCO Heritage Sites #76-86: Kaleidoscopic flashback of impressions

For a few weeks, I thought I could do it – staying up to date with my blog and recording the chronology of my visits to the UNESCO sites in particular. However, it didn’t take long for me to realize that I was getting further and further behind on the writing about the sites, and by trying to strictly write systematically about the travels, I was restricting my natural responses and preventing myself from writing about what was right there, right then. If I ever want to write in the present, I have to skip some of the sights that I have since the summer. So as much as it pains me to skip recording these memories, here is the list of the sites (with short annotations) that I have visited since Warsaw:

#76 – Auschwitz Concentration Camp – a tragic, but unquestionably important reminder of human cruelty

#77 – Saltaire – a model industrial English village, almost a prototype of council housing

#78 – Liverpool Harbour – a site in danger of being removed due to recent controversial construction on the waterfront

#79 – Pontcysyllte Aqueduct – a truly astonishing, but ultimately unnecessary engineering feat carrying a canal over a river

#80 – Gwynedd Castles of Conwy, Caernarfon and Harlech – military displays of English medieval power in Wales

#81 – Kew Royal Botanic Gardens – a large variety of nature activities from visiting 19th-century greenhouses to walks in the forest canopies

#82 – Temples of Kyoto – 17 sites in total, out of which I had to visit 9 to make sure that I could count this site (according to self-imposed rules)

#83 – Temples of Nara – old capital of Japan boasting a large Buddha housed inside the famous Todai-ji temple complex

#84 – Monuments of Mamallapuram – the erroneously called “land of seven pagodas” by Europeans is actually a land of five rathas and numerous cave temples on the southeastern coast of India

#85 – Champaner-Pavagadh Monuments – a collection of mosques and Hindu temples in a long-abandoned and thus archeologically well-preserved town

#86 – Rani Ki Vav – intricately carved Queen’s stepwell built more as a memorial to the late husband rather than an actual water source

 

Leave a Reply

